IAA Awards


In 2018 the IAA global family celebrated the 80th Anniversary of the founding of the International Advertising Association and shared this auspicious occasion with our friends and associates in the marketing communications business around the world at a special reception in New York, where the IAA was born. The IAA Golden Compass Awards were inaugurated to celebrate our milestone anniversary and launch of refreshed IAA branding and value proposition: 'IAA. The global compass of marketing communication'. This award has been initiated to pay homage to a supreme navigator in marketing communications who has performed outstandingly on the world stage.

The IAA Golden Compass Award honors A visionary leader in the international marketing communications industry who has inspired by example with innovative creative ideas, excellent achievements of global impact and outstanding services committed to advance professional quality standards and best practices in marketing communications worldwide.

In keeping with the IAA's inclusive membership structure which embraces professionals from all sectors of the marketing communications industry the Golden Compass Awards acclaims the achievements of three individuals who have been outstanding in the three key industry pillars of marketing, agency and media.

To view the list of Golden Compass Awards Winners, Click Here

Screen Shot 2018 05 05 At 4 01 31 Pm
Srinivasan K Swamy, Vice President IAA Global, presenting the award to Paul Rossi, Former President at The Economist Group
Screen Shot 2018 05 05 At 4 01 44 Pm
Felix Tataru, Chairman and World President IAA Global, presenting the award to Shelly Lazarus, Chairman & CEO at Ogilvy & Mather


The IAA is primarily a people organization and we wish to salute the prime “movers and shakers” in the IAA membership who have performed at a high level of excellence. The IAA Inspire Awards were inaugurated in 2015 to pay tribute to our members for their many achievements and contributions of Leadership, Vision, Commitment and Service to advance the IAA globally as well as to make a difference in the worldwide arena of marketing communications. They have contributed their professional expertise and inspired the marketing communications community locally, regionally and globally.

Five categories of IAA Inspire Awards have been established:


Pays tribute to the lifetime achievements, vision, committed services of leaders in the IAA and their contributions to advancing the IAA and communications in the worldwide marketing communications industry. (Formerly known as the IAA Medal for Merit).


Recognizes individual YP members who are significantly contributing leadership and services in the Young Professionals’ arena and creating dynamics in the marketing communications industry.


Pays tribute to an individual who is retiring from business and/or who has given long and distinguished service to the IAA. Recipients are considered members of the IAA for life without the obligation to pay dues.


Awarded to the IAA Chapter judged to have made the best overall contribution to achieving the aims and objectives (according to set criteria) of the IAA over the preceding two years. The Chapter Excellence award was originally established by the IAA Holland Chapter in 1957 as the Golden Tulip Award. It is now presented to the Chapter making the 'Greatest contribution to the Association over the preceding two years'.


Awarded to the IAA YP Chapter judged to have made the best overall contribution to achieving the aims and objectives (according to set criteria) of the IAA over the preceding two years.

Iaa Winners 2015
Heather Leembruggen, IAA Inspire Awards Chairrman, with 'Champion Award' honoree Sheba Nandkeolyar and 'Young Leader Award' honouree, Dan Richardson-2015
Iaa Inspire Award 2 Fullwds
Faris Aboumahad, former IAA Chairman & World President and Heather Leembruggen, IAA Inspire Awards Chairman with 'Young Leader Award' honorees-2015
2017 Iaa Inspire Awards
2017 IAA Inspire Awards winners at the gala presentation ceremony in Bucharest
Fotografultau 184
IAA Inspire Awards 2017-Chapter Excellence Award winners - Romania Chapter Presidents


Originated to commemorate Samir Fares, IAA Senior VP in 1988, this award presented by the Lebanon and United Arab Emirates Chapters in recognition of career achievement in the IAA and outstanding service in furthering the objectives of the International Advertising Association.

To view the winners of Honorary life members Award, Chapter Excellence Award and Samir Fares Awards, Click Here

To view the winners of Champion Awards, Young Leader and Young Professionals Award, Click Here

To view the winners of IAA Medal for Merit Awards, Click Here

IAA Award

Annually since 1951 and bi-annually since 1984, the IAA Award For distinguished services in the field of international advertising and marketing.

To view the list of IAA Award recipients, Click Here


In 2013 the International Advertising Association celebrated its 75th Anniversary with a Global Leadership Forum in London. To commemorate this important occasion IAA "Champion Awards' were initiated for presentation to key members from previous decades who had contributed their vision, leadership and committed services to the advancement of the IAA locally and globally.

To view the list of 75th Anniversary Award winners, Click Here

We use cookies to enable website functionality, understand the performance of our site, provide social media features, and serve more relevant content to you. We may also place cookies to help us deliver more targeted ads and assess the performance of these campaigns. You may review our Privacy Policy here.